Healthy Mandi Monday

5 Feb

I LOVE FOOD!! 

Fried, dipped, smothered, chocolate, chewy, gooey, powdered, mashed, crispy, salty, crunchy, crusted, sugary, creme filled, sprinkled, and glazed.  I love it all!

Having just read the above I sound like I am a glutton.  Gluttony is defined as means overindulgence and over-consumption of food, drink, or wealth items to the point of extravagance or waste.  I even read something that referred to Gluttony as a problem that resulted from being weaned improperly as an infant, it would be just like us  humans to blame our overeating on someone else.  As much as I would like to blame McDonald’s for force feeding me those tasteless chicken nuggets and sweet tea, Ben & Jerry for making me gag on that awful Chunky Monkey ice cream, or Little Debbie for threatening me to eat the Swiss Rolls………the fault is all mine. If they made healthy food taste like junk food then the American population would not be obese, but it doesn’t…….oops there I go blaming again..

I have never been a good dieter.  I have started a diet on “Monday” for a while now and I was supposed to start a diet on January 1, but it’s now February 4th.  I am guilty of falling off the wagon and secretly stashing junk food for when I do diet.  I also enjoy eating out and it’s hard to eat healthy when you enjoy dining at restaurants (this would be considered an excuse).

BUT, (insert HUGE breath) I need to get serious about being healthy……well as healthy as I can be……..starting TODAY!  I have finally figured out that with my existing health conditions it is vitally important for me to eat right. Now does that mean I can’t treat myself?  NO.  Does that mean I can’t eat what I want? NO.  Does that mean I will not have a Mountain Dew or piece of Chocolate? Absolutely not.

Here’s the key……..Starting today, this morning actually, I will pay closer attention to portion sizes.  I will eat 1 Oreo cookie instead of the whole pack.  I will drink more water and less Sweet Tea and Mountain Dew.  I will dine out less.  I will choose healthy snacks (fruit, vegetables) as opposed to something from the vending machine that favors a candy bar. I also will exercise more, this morning 30 minutes of cardio.  I document everything I eat and am aware of the nutrition of my food.

I have always wanted to be a size 2, but I’m not and I’m probably never going to be, but it’s more than just wanting to be skinny.  It’s the fact that I need to be healthier for me.  In the past when I have attempted the healthy eating thing I felt good……well better, and I want to feel good now.  So Healthy Mandi Monday starts today.  Wish me luck…..it’s only day 1 and I already want that Twix Bar, French Fries, and Sweet Tea.

2 Responses to “Healthy Mandi Monday”

  1. Rossie February 5, 2013 at 1:33 am #

    You can do it Mandi! Over the last month I also started eating healthier and working out several times a week. Our church is participating in the Daniel Plan, which is what prompted our lifestyle change. It helps me to remember that my body is a temple and a gift from God that I should take care of. I realized quickly that my own will power would not be enough and that I would have to rely on His strength when I felt like giving in. Since I know you are a woman of faith, I would encourage you to do the same 🙂 I will say a prayer for you!

Leave a comment